What is the Driver License Compact (DLC)?
The DLC is a compact among the 46 member states to provide uniformity among its member jurisdictions when exchanging information with other members on convictions, records, licenses, withdrawals, and other data pertinent to the licensing process. Basically, it is an effort to make sure that suspensions and other license laws are upheld when individuals drive in other DLC states. The two major provisions of the DLC, which the member states uphold and enforce are:
- One Driver License: This is the concept requiring an individual to surrender an out of state driver's license when application is made for a license in a new state.
- One Driver Record: This is the concept requiring a complete driver record be maintained in the individual's state of residence to determine driving eligibility in the state of residence as well as operating privilege's in other jurisdictions.
When did Pennsylvania Become a Member of the DLC?
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania joined the DLC on January 1, 1995, and it became law in Pennsylvania in December 1996.
What Violations Committed in a Member State will Result in a Suspension of my Pennsylvania Driving Privilege?
While not all violations that occur in a member state can lead to the suspension of your Pennsylvania license, the following offenses if committed in a member state would, They include:
- Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
- Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or a narcotic that renders a person incapable of driving a vehicle safely.
- Failure to stop and help at a motor vehicle accident that results in the death or injury of another individual.
- Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used (Crimes Code and Dangerous Drug Act offenses).
Although reported to PennDot, minor traffic offenses occurring in a member state will NOT appear on your driving record and points will NOT be assessed to your Pennsylvania driver's license. The one caveat to this is if you hold a CDL. Point-related violations include speeding, red light, and stop sign offenses.
The member states of the DLC do not impose the same suspension terms. Some states impose a term of suspension which is less than or greater than that of Pennsylvania. Your Pennsylvania license will be suspended according to the terms of the Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Code.
In addition, your suspension in Pennsylvania will probably not begin at the same time as the member state. Most of the time, the member state will suspend your driving privileges first. Pennsylvania will then receive the conviction from the member state, and then suspend your license.
How Long Will my Pennsylvania Driver's License be Suspended for if I am Convicted of a DUI in a Member State?
If your violation occurred on or after February 1, 2004, you will not have your license suspended. If it is your second or subsequent offense, then PenDOT will impose a one year suspension.
How Long will my Pennsylvania Driver's License be Suspended for if I am Convicted of a Serious Traffic Offense Other Than DUI in a Member State?
It will be for a minimum of 1 year, however, it could be 5 years, depending on the provisions of Section 1542 of the Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Code.
When Will my Pennsylvania Driver's License Suspension Start?
If you are convicted of a serious traffic offense in a member state, under the terms of the DLC, that state is required to report the conviction to PennDot. Once PennDot is notified of the conviction, they will mail a notice of suspension letter to you with the specific date that the suspension will begin.
How Does the DLC Work When an Out of State Driver is Convicted of an Offense in Pennsylvania?
All convictions in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania will be forwarded to the Department of Transportation of the motorist's home state. In addition, their privilege to drive in Pennsylvania will be suspended in convicted of the following serious traffic offenses.
- Homicide by Vehicle;
- Reckless Driving;
- Fleeing or Attempting to Elude Police Officer;
- Racing on a Highway; and
- Driving While Operating Privilege is Suspended or Revoked
What States are a Member of the DLC?
Currently, the only states that are not part of the Interstate Driver's License Compact are:
- Tennessee; and
CONTACT US TODAY
If you or a loved one have been charged with DUI or another traffic offense, call Sklarosky Law today at (570) 283-1200 or use our online contact form and tell us about your potential case. DUI charges can have life altering ramifications. Do not wait, call us today so that we can help ensure that your rights are protected.